Copy Talk

I wrote what now? A Year of Words in Review

January

I set resolutions for my friends. Of everyone, Kim did the best (congrats) with Webbie in a surprisingly close second (so proud of you).

I collaborated with designer Michelle Hierzer on an art piece, titled Copy vs. Art, that showed at the Defibrillator Gallery in Chicago. My brother was kind enough to send me pictures.

1507770_10202018161150536_1915583232_n_o art1_o

I wrote (and re-wrote and wrote again) a TV spot to fit into an existing brand campaign. I first saw the spot on TV when I was getting a pedicure for my friend’s wedding. The lady cut my toe because I jumped too high.

February

In one of many firsts for the year, I directed voice talent for a campaign with several radio spots. What I learned: get more than one good read (and mark them) and always mind the time.

I started volunteering at Mighty Writers, a youth literacy organization in Philly. My mentee and I co-wrote a story about a girl who loves eating chicken. We ended up recording it for their podcast, Mighty Radio. Just a snippet:

“I’m gonna eat you, chicken,” I said happily.

“Not so fast, chicken lover.”

I was so surprised that the chicken could talk, but that didn’t matter. I knew that this was the right time to eat the delicious chicken.

March

I went to India and wrote this before the trip and this afterwards. Here’s a picture of me nearly upside down on a bench in front of the Taj Mahal:

13447499735_0a09ec6276_z

To surprise my brother for his 30th birthday, I created a collection of stories and photos from his friends called 30 Stories.

Also, I got a short story published in an Irish literary mag.

April

I did a lot of rewriting in April. Rewrote a brochure, several scripts and a brand’s entire website. A writer’s job is never done.

May

I concepted, wrote and helped produce a campaign for Bryn Mawr Rehab Hospital with my creative team. (That didn’t all happen in May, but the filming/editing portion did). This is one of my favorite pieces from the campaign:

In celebration of my one year anniversary in Philly, I wrote this.

June

I have no record of writing anything in June. Huh.

July 

I sent my friend Emily one random sentence every day for a week. The final sentence:

I looked the scruffy, one-legged dog in the eye and said, “I love you and I’m sorry.”

I wrote an oddball piece on writing with heart and another, more sensible piece arguing against side projects.

August

My creative partner and I created a networking game for Comcast and the Philly Geek Awards. We dubbed it Royal Geek Flush. (It even got a little press).

Comcast_RoyalGeekFlush_SocialMediaPost_All_2_1200

I worked on a few freelance projects that had beginnings, but not ends. Happens.

September

I started the Interview with a Writer series where I interviewed talented copywriters about what they do. Jason Siciliano, aka @moderncopywriter, had the best weirdest work story.

October

I wrote a brochure for a hospital’s brand-new wing of luxury suites using phrases like exquisitely designed, gourmet dining service and heated reclining massage chair. So fancy.

I pitched several new product names to a chemical brand looking to refresh their portfolio. They shot them all down, so I pitched some more.

November

A college student emailed me to ask for advice on finding a job after graduation and I replied with this:

My biggest piece of advice for you is to develop laser-like focus. You may be exploring several options, but agencies aren’t looking for uncertainty; they want passion and drive. With each email you send, personalize it to the person and job. If you’re not sure if you like digital strategy or account management more, go ahead and pretend one way or the other until you figure it out.

Basically, your classic “fake it till you make it” advice. IT WORKS.

I helped write a brochure on sausage casings. It’s surprisingly funny. (Posting to my portfolio soon. Well, soon-ish).

December

I’m in the middle of writing a script for a tech company that will, by next month, be a short animated video. Love collaborating with talented people.

Speaking of which…

I’ve been collaborating with artist Caitlin Peck on a piece that combines installation art and writing (fiction, in our case). The piece, titled Because Everything’s Different When You’re Ten, will be shown at a group exhibit at the Philadelphia Sculpture Gym in January.

I also just started Conversations with Eric, a series of barely-sane, writing-related posts with my friend Eric.

And finally, I wrote holiday haikus for my family. Good year, all around.

Standard

Leave a Reply

